Hawaii State Senate Unveils its Leadership and Committee Assignments

The Hawaii State Senate today unveiled its leadership and committee assignments. Two committees have been added, expanding the list of committees from 14 to 16. The new committees are Technology and the Arts and Higher Education.

For the first time in nearly two decades, a Republican Senator has been appointed in a leadership position on a committee. Lone Republican Senator Sam Slom (District 9) appointed to serve as vice chair of the Senate Committee on Economic Development and Housing. Senator Donovan Dela Cruz (District 22) will serve as chairman of the committee.

The last time Republicans served in a leadership position on a committee was during the 17th Hawaii State Legislature in 1993 and 1994.

Currently, the Senate is comprised of 24 Democratic Senators and one Republican Senator. With Democratic Senators holding the majority, chairmanships and vice chairmanships have been held by Democrats. But this upcoming 27th Hawaii State Legislature, Senate President Shan Tsutsui wanted to create a more cooperative environment that fostered shared leadership and authority by giving more Senators the opportunity to chair a committee and by appointing the Senate’s lone republican as vice chair of a committee.

A day after the General Election, the Hawaii State Senate unveiled its leadership and committee chairmanships with a primary goal of promoting an environment of cooperation and shared leadership and authority.

Here is the list of the leadership and committee assignments: