Hawaii State Senate Celebrates Education

HONOLULU — Education will once again be the focus of an interactive week-long celebration at the State Capitol from March 18-22, 2013. Various educational stakeholders and organizations that make a difference in the lives of Hawaii’s students will be participating in the legislature’s annual Education Week. During House and Senate Floor Sessions, legislators will also be honoring various individuals and schools, such as district teachers of the year, principals of the year, and Hawaii Blue Ribbon Schools.

The event is being organized by the Hawaii State Senate Committee on Education. Focused on highlighting the success of our schools and our students, this year’s celebration will include programs and events that bring everyone, from our youngest of keiki to our most mature k?puna, to the State Capitol to educate and engage with policymakers.

Some highlights include:

  • Robotics Teams from various schools will be demonstrating in the State Capitol Rotunda
  • University of Hawaii will be featuring their health related programs
  • Hawaii Public Charters will be holding several  roundtable discussions
  • High School students will engage in the legislative process by learning about it, then testifying on resolutions before the Senate Committee on Education.
  • “Ask Your Senator” project engages Hawaii State Senators take questions from students about a variety of topics, including civics, issues concerning them and their community, etc.   Through the use of social media, the Q’s & A’s, are exchanged.  For more information on how to participate:  http://www.hawaiisenatemajority.com/2013/02/ask-your-senator/

Below is a calendar of the events


Executive Office of Early Learning
Discussion and Displays: “Education in Hawaii: What’s at Stake?”
Time: 8 a.m. – 10 a.m.
Place: State Capitol, Room 225

Robotics Demonstrations
Participating Schools: Kaahumanu Elementary, Kalakaua Middle, Moanalua Middle, Stevenson Middle, Kalani High School and Farrington High School
Time: 9 a.m. – 11:15 a.m.
Place: State Capitol Rotunda

Senate Floor Presentations:
40th Anniversary of HAEYC (Hawaii Association for the Education of Young Children), KCAA Preschools, and Dr. Robert Peters, former chair of the Early Learning Advisory Board
Time: 11:30 a.m.
Place: Senate Chamber

Hawaii’s Public Charter Schools
Short Roundtable discussions on a variety of topics, such as project based learning, conversion schools and individualized learning programs.
Time: 9:30 a.m. – 11:30 p.m.
Place: Room 224 and Room 225

Senate and House Floor Presentations:
Libraries and Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching
Time: 11:30 a.m. (Senate) 12:00 p.m. (House)
Place: Senate/House Chambers

University of Hawaii Systemwide Campuses:
Participating Programs:
Windward Community College: Veterinary Technology Program
University of Hawaii at Hilo: College of Pharmacy
John A. Burns School of Medicine: Department of Native Hawaiian Health and Native Hawaiian Center of Excellence
College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources– UH Manoa: Nutrition Education
Kapiolani Community College: Health Academics Program (Nursing, Health Sciences, Emergency Medical Program)
UH Alumni Association
Cancer Center

University of Hawaii Band
Time: 9 a.m. – 11 a.m.

Place: Capitol Rotunda

Senate and House Floor Presentations:
Principals of the Year, Blue Ribbons Schools
Time: 11:30 a.m. (Senate) 12:00 p.m. (House)
Place: Senate/House Chambers

Friends of the Library Book Sale
Time: 9 a.m. – 12 p.m.
Place: State Capitol, Room 224

Smaller Learning Communities
Student Presentations and Displays
Time: 9 a.m. – 11 a.m.
Place: State Capitol, Room 225

Senate and House Floor Presentations: Teachers of the Year
Karen Kutsunai, 2013 State Teacher of the Year
Tracie Higashi, 2013 Central District Teacher of the Year
Victoria Coffin, 2013 Leeward District Teacher of the Year
Marcus Pottenger, 2013 Honolulu District Teacher of the Year
Aaron Loque, 2013 Maui District teacher of the Year
Paul Holwegner, 2013 Kauai District Teacher of the Year
Amoreena (Amy) Nestman, 2013 District Teacher of the Year
Time: 11:30 a.m. (Senate) 12:00 p.m. (House)
Place: Senate/House Chambers

Military in the Schools – Demonstrations, Performances and Displays
Time: 8:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.
Place: Capitol Rotunda

Youth Engagement Legislative Hearing Day with the Senate Committee on Education
Time: 1:15 p.m.
Place: Room 414
Participating Schools:
• Aiea High School
• Hilo High School
• Honokaa High
• Kaimuki High School
• Kaiser High School
• Kalaheo High School
• Kauai High School
• Keaau High School
• Kealakehe High School
• King Kekaulike High School
• Konawaena High School
• Lahainaluna High School
• Mililani High School
• Pahoa High and Intermediate School
• Radford High School
• Waiakea High School
• Waianae High School
• Waimea High School
• Waipahu High School