The Senate

The Hawaii State government is a representative democracy built upon self-governance. Modeled after the federal government, the state government consists of three branches of government, the Legislature, Judiciary, and Executive. The Legislature makes laws, the Executive implements and enforces laws, and the Judiciary interprets laws.

The Legislature is composed of two chambers, the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Hawaii State Senate is the upper chamber of the Hawaii State Legislature. The Senate consists of a total of twenty-five elected members from across the islands. Members of the Senate are elected by the people of the State of Hawaii to four-year terms.

The Senate is currently led by the Senate President, Senator Donna Mercado Kim.


© Copyright Hawai'i Senate Majority Caucus - Theme by Pexeto