Senator Gilbert Keith-Agaran receives the "2020 Legislator of the Year" Mahalo Award

The Friends of the Library of Hawai‘i (FLH) has awarded Senator Gilbert Keith-Agaran the Mahalo Award as the FLH 2020 Legislator of the Year. Senator Keith-Agaran represents Senate District 5 – Wailuku, Waihe‘e, and Kahului. The award was presented at the FLH Legislative Event held January 27, 2021 virtually.

State Librarian, Stacey Aldrich, welcomed invited guests from the Hawai’i State Legislature, Hawai’i State Public Library System, and Friends of the Library of Hawai‘i Affiliates and volunteers. FLH Executive Director, Nainoa Mau, State Librarian Stacey Aldrich, and Senator Keith-Agaran were the featured speakers, sharing successful Friends and library accomplishments for 2020 and looking forward to 2021 when library services will remain critical for digital equity.

Senator Keith-Agaran has served in the state legislature since 2009, beginning as a state representative and moving to the state senate in 2013. Senator Keith-Agaran is the Vice-Chair of the Senate Water and Land and the Senate Ways and Means Committees and is a member of the Higher Education Committee.

Senator Keith-Agaran has been a lifelong public library user and has a keen interest in the success of our public libraries. He has been a strong supporter for increases in the 51-branch library system budget as well as supporting the Friends of the Library of Hawai‘i with their FY2020 grant-in-aid request. Senator Keith-Agaran has been important to the Maui public libraries and the current renovation of the Kahului branch.

The Mahalo Award is presented annually to a State legislator who has demonstrated exemplary support of Hawai‘i’s public libraries.

View the presentation below:






Phone: 808-586-6720

Hawaiʻi State Capitol

415 South Beretania Street

Honolulu, HI 96813

©2021 by Hawai'i State Senate